Honest comparison

The honest comparison of bail bond software.

Picking a bail platform is one of the biggest operational decisions an agency makes. Here is what Captira looks like next to the other names on the shortlist, side by side. Every cell verified from each vendor's own site or a reputable third-party review. Updated October 2026.

At a glance

How Captira compares.

Where we could not verify a competitor's claim, we left it blank rather than guess.

Feature Captira$1 first month, $99/mo flat Simply BailPrice not published, demo first eBail$99/mo + per-doc & per-txn fees BailBooksFrom about $55/mo, June 2026
Remote e-signIncluded, no per-doc feesIncluded (E-Document Signing, defendants and indemnitors)Included, 10 free then $0.60 to $0.75 per docIncluded
GPS check-ins + GeoFenceYes, with configurable GeoFence radiusYes, GPS-based check-ins. GeoFence not statedYes (GEO Check-Ins)Yes (real-time GPS)
Multi-state re-arrest monitoringDefendant Watch add-on, ~$0.99 or less per defendantArrest Alerts on re-arrest. Multi-state coverage not stated10 free, then $0.65 to $0.75/mo per defendantNot advertised
Court date remindersAuto SMS to defendant + indemnitors + contactsYes, automatic, to defendants and indemnitorsAuto remindersAuto SMS + email
Online paymentsIncluded; Bail Pay accepts payment before case file openPayment Plans, automatically scheduled and collectedIncluded, rate match or 2.89% + $0.30 per transactionBailbondPay portal
Powers and inventoryYes, power inventory and liability trackingYes, allocate powers to agents and offices, track status and liabilityYes, included on all tiersNot verified
ForfeituresYes, forfeiture tracking with recovery agent sharingYes, with special access for recovery agentsYes, court and forfeiture management on all tiersNot verified
ReportingYes, including surety and DOI reportingYes, including Surety, Sheriff and Department of InsuranceYes, included on all tiersNot verified
Users and agentsUnlimited agents. Two user logins included, additional logins availableUnlimited offices and employees, stated as included3 agents free on Premium, 10 on Pro, 20 on GMA, then $9/mo per agent"Unlimited users: Grow without user limits"
Usage charges on top of the subscriptione-sign and surety forms free. SMS 5c, Auto Pay 99c per successful payment, 3% on card invoices, Defendant Watch and storage tiers priced separatelyStates none: "Everything is included with no additional charges"e-sign 10 free then 60c to 75c each, SMS 5c, payments rate match or 2.89% + 30c, background and ID checks priced per useNot verified
Data ownershipYour data is yours, exportable anytime"Your data and cases are all yours and can be exported anytime", daily backupsNot publicly statedNot verified
Defendant experienceSMS-based, no app for defendants to installNot statedMobile defendant appDefendant mobile app, free, included with every plan
Surety formsMajority covered; Customer Care loads custom formsNot publicly statedNot publicly statedNot publicly stated
Starting price$1 first month, then $99/mo flatNot published. "Tailor-made pricing plans ... contact us to learn more"$99 / $199 / $349 per month, 3 tiers, 20% off annualFrom about $55/mo, verified June 2026
Low-risk start$1 first month, no card gymnasticsNot advertised. Entry is "Book a live demo"$1 for 14 days, then auto-billed the full subscription priceNot advertised
Contract termsNo long-term contract, cancel anytime in-appNot publicly statedNot publicly stated"No Contracts: Cancel anytime", monthly subscriptions
Third-party reviewsSourceForge #1 small-business bail (5.0/5)Not verifiedSourceForge listed, no reviewsSourceForge listed, no reviews

Sources: each vendor's own pricing and feature pages. Captira, eBail and Simply Bail verified 1 October 2026. BailBooks verified June 2026, with homepage claims re-read from a March 2026 archive copy because their site refuses our connections. Tell us if anything is out of date and we will update it.

Why agencies pick Captira

Four concrete reasons, not marketing.

One flat price, no surprise add-ons

$1 first month, then $99/mo. Digital signing included with no per-signature charge. Standard-cadence SMS billed at standard rates. No tiered pricing that pushes the features you actually need into the next tier up.

Defendant Watch when you want it

Multi-state re-arrest monitoring is available as an add-on at about $0.99 per defendant or less. Turn it on per case, not per platform tier. One catch usually pays for it many times over.

Verified third-party ranking

Ranked #1 in SourceForge's small-business bail bond software category with a 5.0/5 rating. Listed and rated on Slashdot. AboutBail.com has covered Captira as a category leader.

Built for how bail actually works

Powers, sureties, indemnitors, GPS check-ins, e-signing, payments, and forfeiture management are all native, not bolted-on. Two decades of bail-industry software work behind it.

The fair version

What each one is actually good at.

From each vendor's own published material. Where we could not verify something, we say so.

Simply Bail

simplybail.com →

Best for: agencies who want a guided demo

Covers the basics: e-sign, GPS check-ins, court reminders, arrest alerts, powers, forfeitures and surety reporting. Unlimited offices and employees, no extra charge for features, and your data is exportable anytime. No published price: you book a demo first.

Where Captira differs: We publish $99/mo flat and let you run a real case for $1 without talking to anyone.

eBail

ebail.app →

Best for: agencies happy to pay per use

Three published tiers at $99, $199 and $349 a month, all with unlimited bonds and defendants. Extras are per use: e-sign after 10 free, arrest monitoring per defendant, background and ID checks. The trial is $1 for 14 days, then bills in full.

Where Captira differs: Our e-sign and surety forms have no per-document fee, and our $1 start is a full month. They include more agent seats than our two logins.

BailBooks

www.bailbooks.com →

Best for: small agencies wanting a lower entry price

Advertises unlimited users, no contracts and no setup, with a free defendant app, nationwide re-arrest tracking, geo-fence alerts, its own payment site and remote co-signer e-signing. Plans started near $55/mo at our last check.

Where Captira differs: Their column is June 2026, not current: their site refuses our connections. On simultaneous logins they are more generous.

Independent third-party reviews

What public review sites say.

We have linked the sources so you can read the originals.

"I really like that this software doesn't force me to follow a specific process that isn't how I do my business. It's easy to use and flexible."

Verified review on SourceForge. Captira ranks #1 in the small-business bail bond agency software category.

Slashdot5.0 / 5
"Quality is great and response is fast."

Verified review on Slashdot.

AboutBailIndustry coverage
"More than half of the bail written in the country is tracked on the Captira platform."

AboutBail.com sponsor spotlight feature on Captira.

Pricing

Try the whole platform for $1.

Flat, transparent, no per-signature fee. One price, the whole agency.

$1 first month

Then $99/mo. Cancel anytime, no contract.

  • Full platform, every feature
  • Free digital signing included
  • Automated check-ins, court reminders, and alerts
  • Defendant Watch available as an add-on (~$0.99 or less per defendant)
  • Multi-user, multi-office
Start my $1 trial

Switching from another platform? We will talk through migration and what is possible. No commitment, no demo dance.

Common questions

What agents ask before switching.

Is Captira better than eBail or BailBooks?
It depends on what you value. Captira leads on a published flat price, no per-document e-sign or surety form fees, an optional Defendant Watch add-on at under a dollar per defendant, and a $1 first month you can start without talking to sales. eBail gives you more included agent seats and publishes a detailed per-use price list. BailBooks advertises unlimited users and a lower entry price. Simply Bail quotes after a demo. Check the table above against each vendor's own site, which is where every cell here came from.
What does bail bond software cost?
Captira is $1 the first month, then $99/mo flat. e-sign and surety forms carry no per-document fee; usage charges that do apply are SMS at 5c, Auto Pay at 99c per successful scheduled payment, 3% on card invoices, plus optional add-ons like Defendant Watch. eBail is $99, $199 or $349 a month by tier, with e-sign at 60c to 75c after 10 free, SMS at 5c, payments at rate match or 2.89% + 30c, and $9/mo per agent above the tier allowance. Its trial is $1 for 14 days, not free. Simply Bail does not publish a price. BailBooks started at about $55/mo when verified in June 2026.
Is Defendant Watch included or extra?
Defendant Watch is an optional add-on, charged at roughly $0.99 per defendant monitored or less. Turn it on for the cases that warrant it. One catch usually pays for many months of monitoring.
Do I need a long-term contract?
Not with Captira. You can cancel anytime in-app, no calls required, no cancellation fee. BailBooks also publishes no-contract, month-to-month terms. eBail and Simply Bail do not publicly state their contract terms, so ask directly before signing.
Can I switch from another platform?
Most agencies are running their first case file the same day they switch. Larger migrations from spreadsheets or another bail platform take 1-3 days. Tell us what you are on today and we will tell you what is possible.
Where can I verify the third-party ranking?
Captira's SourceForge listing is at sourceforge.net/software/product/Captira/ and the small-business bail bond software category page at sourceforge.net/software/bail-bond-agency/for-small-business/. Slashdot is at slashdot.org/software/p/Captira/.
What hours is support available?
Email and in-app chat support, Monday through Friday until 5 PM ET. Captira HQ is in Albany, NY.
Captira vs Simply Bail, what is the difference?
Mostly how you buy, not what you get. Both cover e-signing, GPS check-ins, court reminders, arrest alerts, powers, forfeitures and surety reporting. Simply Bail does not publish a price: you book a live demo and answer questions about agent count, case volume and your surety first. Captira publishes $99 a month flat and lets you run a real case for $1 without speaking to anyone. Simply Bail includes unlimited offices and employees; Captira includes two user logins, with additional logins available.
How much does Simply Bail cost?
Simply Bail does not publish its pricing. Their site says they offer tailor-made plans and asks you to contact them, so you get a number after a demo and some questions about your agency. They do state that features carry no additional charges. For comparison, Captira is $1 for the first month, then $99 a month flat, published up front.
How many users do I get?
Captira records unlimited agents and includes two user logins, with additional logins available. Simply Bail states unlimited offices and employees. eBail includes 3 agents on Premium, 10 on Pro and 20 on GMA, then charges $9 a month per agent. BailBooks advertises unlimited users. If your whole team needs to be signed in at once, tell us your headcount and we will price it before you sign up.

No demo dance. No sales pressure.

Try the actual product for $1 the first month. You decide if it fits your agency, not a salesperson.

See why agencies switch to Captira.

Start with one defendant for $1. Run a real case through Captira. If it doesn't fit, walk away. Looking for the wider platform tour? See Captira's bail bond software or set up defendant check-in.